Anpara Thermal Power Station

Plant Location

The Anpara Power Plant is located near village Anpara on the bank of Rihand reservoir in the district of Sonebhadra (Uttar Pradesh). it is about 34 km from Rihand Dam on Pipri-Singrauli road and about 200 km from Varanasi. Varanasi is connected by air/rail and road route from other major cities.

Generating Units at Anpara Thermal Power Station

All the units of Anpara TPS are coal-fired thermal power plants, having a total generating capacity of 2630 MW and consists of following units -

Stage Units No. Installed Capacity Derated Capacity Date of Synchronization Date of Commercial Operation Original Equipment Manufacturers
'A' TPS 1 210 MW 210 MW 26.03.1986 01.01.1987 M/s Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd.
2 210 MW 210 MW 28.02.1987 01.08.1987 M/s Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd.
3 210 MW 210 MW 12.03.1988 01.04.1989 M/s Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd.
'B' TPS 4 500 MW 500 MW 19.07.1993 01.03.1994 M/s Mitsubishi Corporation, Japan
5 500 MW 500 MW 04.07.1994 01.10.1994 M/s Mitsubishi Corporation, Japan
'D' TPS 6 500 MW 500 MW 31.03.2015 08.05.2016 M/s Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd.
7 500 MW 500 MW 23.02.2016 18.10.2016 M/s Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd.

The coal to all these units is fed from Kharia, Kakri and Beena open coal mines of NCL, by means of a marry-go-round system, maintained by UPRVUNL.